What Car?

What Car?
Manage everything from Processes to People

Long List Of Nominees For Car Of The Year Awards

Oxygen CRM-FREE Edition Trial

Comment; "The sheer variety of cars on this year’s long list stands as a testament to the fact UK car buyers now have more choice than ever." 

- 2019 Awards to feature new categories for Sports SUVs and Pick-Ups

- Sports Car category divided into Sports Car and Performance Car

- Winners to be revealed at ceremony on Tuesday 22 January...

The long list for the What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2019, in association with Warranty Direct and BNP Paribas Cardif, has been announced ahead of the prestigious ceremony.

Manufacturers will be recognised across a wide range of categories, with a What Car? Award one of the most sought after accolades in the automotive industry.

This year sees the introduction of two new awards to reflect the changing market: Pick-up and Sports SUV. Plus, last year’s Performance and Sports car category has been divided in two due to the broad range of vehicles eligible. 

Among the Sports SUVs making the cut are the Alfa Romeo Stelvio Quadrifoglio, BMW X5 M40i and Cupra Ateca, while the Ford Ranger and Mercedes-Benz X-Class are just two of the models fighting it out for the first Pick-Up of the Year Award.

The awards, which will take place on Tuesday 22 January, ultimately pick out one overall Car of the Year from all the individual winners, with this the car that represents the biggest step forward.

What Car? editor Steve Huntingford said: “The sheer variety of cars on this year’s long list stands as a testament to the fact UK car buyers now have more choice than ever.

“Not only are we seeing new models raising the bar in established categories such as Small Car, Family Car and Family SUV, but the growing list of categories available points towards a market which is only getting bigger and better.

“Manufacturers should be proud of all the models featured on today’s list. Our judging panel have a job on their hands choosing this year’s category winners and an ultimate champion for the 2019 What Car? Car of the Year Awards.”

Warranty Direct and BNP Paribas Cardif return to the 2019 Awards as headline sponsor, while Warranty Direct also acts as sponsor of the 2019 Hot Hatch award, and a range of companies with expertise in the automotive industry put their names to other categories.

Thatcham will be sponsoring the 2019 Safety Award, auto trade specialists CAP HPI are sponsoring the Small SUV award, and NOCO, global producer of car batteries, is backing Family SUV.

The What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2019 will take place on Tuesday 22 January at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Mayfair, while the full long-list of nominees can be found below.

For more information about the What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2019, visit www.whatcarawards.com

What Car? Car of the Year 2019 Long List..!

City car
Citroen C1
Kia Picanto (defending champion)
Peugeot 108
Smart Fortwo
Toyota Aygo

Small car
Audi A1
Ford Fiesta Active
Ford Ka+
Honda Jazz
Hyundai i20
MG 3
Mini hatchback
Nissan Micra
Seat Ibiza (defending champion)
Skoda Fabia
Volkswagen Polo

Family car
Citroen C4 Cactus
Ford Focus
Honda Civic
Hyundai i30 Fastback
Kia Ceed
Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Skoda Octavia (defending champion)

Small SUV, 
sponsored by cap hpi
Audi Q2
Fiat 500X
Hyundai Kona
Mazda CX-3
Renault Captur
Seat Arona (defending champion)
Suzuki Vitara
Volkswagen T-Cross
Volkswagen T-Roc

Family SUV, 
sponsored by NOCO
Audi Q3
Dacia Duster
Hyundai Tucson
Jaguar E-Pace
Kia Sportage
Lexus UX
Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross
Nissan Qashqai
Renault Kadjar
Seat Ateca
Vauxhall Grandland X
Volvo XC40 (defending champion)

Large SUV
Audi Q5
Citroen C5 Aircross
DS 7 Crossback
Ford Edge
Honda CR-V
Hyundai Santa Fe
Kia Sorento
Peugeot 5008 (defending champion)
Seat Tarraco
Skoda Kodiaq
Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace

Sports SUV
 (new category)
Alfa Romeo Stelvio Quadrifoglio
Audi SQ5
Audi SQ7
BMW X2 M35i
BMW X3 M40i
BMW X4 M40i
Cupra Ateca
Jaguar F-Pace SVR
Lamborghini Urus
Mercedes-AMG G 63
Mercedes-AMG GLC 63
Porsche Cayenne
Porsche Macan
Range Rover Sport SVR
Tesla Model X P100D

Luxury SUV
Audi Q7 (defending champion)
Audi Q8
Bentley Bentayga
Lexus RX L
Mercedes-Benz G-Class
Mercedes-Benz GLE
Range Rover
Range Rover Sport
Range Rover Velar
Rolls-Royce Cullinan
Volkswagen Touareg

BMW 2 Series Active Tourer
Citroen Berlingo
Citroen C4 Spacetourer
Citroen Spacetourer
Mercedes-Benz B-Class
Peugeot Rifter
Peugeot Traveller
Toyota Proace Verso
Vauxhall Combo Life
Volkswagen Touran (defending champion)

Estate car
Audi A6 Avant
Ford Focus Estate
Kia Proceed
Mazda 6 Tourer
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Estate
Jaguar XF Sportbrake
Peugeot 508 SW
Skoda Fabia Estate
Skoda Superb Estate (defending champion)
Subaru Outback
Volvo V60

 (new category)
Ford Ranger
Isuzu D-Max
Mercedes-Benz X-Class
Nissan Navara
Volkswagen Amarok
Ssangyong Musso

Executive car
Audi A4 (defending champion)
BMW 3 Series
Mazda 6
Mercedes-Benz A-Class Saloon
Mercedes-Benz C-Class
Peugeot 508
Vauxhall Insignia Grand Sport
Volvo S60

Luxury car
Audi A6
Audi A7 Sportback
Audi A8
BMW 5 Series (defending champion)
Lexus ES
Lexus LS
Mercedes-Benz CLS

 (rule changes, so defending champion no longer eligible)
Audi A3 Cabriolet
Audi A5 Cabriolet
Aston Martin DB11 Volante
Ferrari Portofino
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet
Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet
Mercedes-Benz S-Class Cabriolet
Mini Convertible
Porsche 911 Cabriolet

Hot hatch, sponsored by Warranty Direct
Ford Fiesta ST
Honda Civic Type R
Kia Ceed GT
Mercedes-AMG A35
Renault Megane Renaultsport
Suzuki Swift Sport
Volkswagen Polo GTI
Volkswagen Up GTI

Aston Martin DB11 AMR
Audi TT (defending champion)
Bentley Continental GT
BMW 8 Series
Ford Mustang
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe
Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe
Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe

Sports car
 (no defending champion)
Alpine A110
Aston Martin DBS Superleggera
Aston Martin Vantage
BMW i8
Mazda MX-5
McLaren 600LT
Porsche 718 Boxster GTS
Porsche 718 Cayman GTS
Porsche 911 T
Toyota GT86

Performance car
Audi RS3 Saloon
Audi S5 Sportback
Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio (defending champion)
Mercedes-AMG C43
Mercedes-AMG C63
Mercedes-AMG E63
Mercedes-AMG GT 4-door
Kia Stinger GT
Porsche Panamera
Tesla Model S P100D

BMW 5 Series iPerformance
BMW 7 Series iPerformance
Honda CR-V Hybrid
Hyundai Ioniq (defending champion)
Kia Niro Plug-in
Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV
Porsche Cayenne e-Hybrid
Range Rover PHEV
Range Rover Sport PHEV

Electric car
BMW i3
Hyundai Kona EV
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-Pace
Kia e-Niro
Nissan Leaf (defending champion)
Nissan e-NV200 Combi

More News